ESSEX CHESS ASSOCIATION

FOUNDED 1898

The meeting was held on 26 June 2013 at The Park Room, Wanstead House, The Green, London E11 commencing at 8 p.m.

Minutes of the AGM

Present: Bryan Gaze (Chair), Tom Barton, John Chapman, Geoff Cooper, Dave Hawks, Ian Hunnable, David Millward, Mark Murrell, Colin Ramage, Joe Rosenberg, Ivor Smith, Steve Wedlock.

- **1. Apologies for absence**: Steve Abbott, Simon Moth, Peter Nickals, Jef Page, John Philpott.
- 2. Minutes of the AGM held on June 26 2012: The minutes were approved.
- **3. Matters arising from the minutes:** There were no matters arising.
- 4. Officers Reports

President: (Ivor Smith): Presidents team vs rest. This took place in September 2012 with the result Writtle 8-4 Rest. Ivor gave thanks to Steve Abbott, Team Captain.

Chairman (Bryan Gaze): Nothing to report.

General Secretary (John Chapman): Submitted a brief report. It contained a request from one member who advocated that the General Secretary communicate directly with all members rather through Club Secretaries. Apart from technical issues regarding large email address being blocked by some ISP's, Joe pointed out that it was a constitutional requirement to communicate via Club Secretaries.

Assistant General Secretary (Steve Wedlock): Reported that he would be actively helping the General Secretary.

Treasurer (Joe Rosenberg): Delivered a report and stated that The Association had made a surplus of £455 compared with a deficit of £306 in the previous year. The new ECF membership scheme had resulted in less ECA members than last year, however not as few as had been feared.

The SCCU Jamboree had not taken place this season.

The issue of non-ECA members playing for the County needed to be resolved. Considerable debate ensued on this issue, without resolution.

Match Captain (Ivor Smith): Presented report. In the Open, 5 matches were played and Essex came 4th, so were transferred into the Minor Counties. The team won by 4 points.

The U-160 and U-100 were both through to the final, while all six teams went into The next stage.

Correspondence Captain (Steve Abbott): In his absence, his report was read by Bryan Gaze.

Tournament Secretary (Gavin Strachan): Resigned.

Ivor Smith reported that Wanstead 'A' won the Team Blitz tournament and David Sands retained the Individual Lightning tournament. Ivor had run these events for the past 21 years.

The Individual Rapid play was without an organizer as Gavin Strachan had resigned. Trophies exist for Essex Champion, Essex Junior Trophy and North Essex League. A venue is required that has a capacity of about 40 people. When do we plan to hold this event?

Summer Knockout: Ian Hunnable: Essex Knockout: Ian read a report. This year invitations were out by May 2013 and 9 teams had entered, however Southend had not. The previous night, 25 June 2013: Semi-final result: Brentwood 8.5-3.5 Upminster; the other semi-final Wanstead 'A' vs Thurrock was to be played 27 June 2013.

Ivor added that they used to present a digital clock, however they do not do so now. Ivor was keen to do this, however Joe Rosenberg not keen as the clocks cost over £30 and there is no similar prize for Essex League, so he felt that the prize was out of proportion. Ian Hunnable added that he had made the decision to stop presenting the clocks. This was discussed however without resolution.

League Secretary (David Millward): Presented a report. Essex had 268 players registered of which 228 played, so 40 players inactive. The Brentwood vs Loughton incident was mentioned and is in the GPC minutes.

Thanks were given to Malcolm Crane for making the 3rd base for the Silver Rook trophy.

The 3rd Division Trophy is out of space for engraving and needs action.

Grader (David Millward): Presented a report; the current season ends 30 June 2013.

Junior Organiser (Dave Hawkins): Presented a report. He stated that he was keen to collect old analogue clocks from any clubs that had spares, if they have switched from analogue to digital. These were much in demand for Junior events.

Publicity and Webmaster (lan Hunnable): Delivered report. On 12 May 2013 the ECA website was attacked and off-line for a day. He had since changed the password and removed suspicious pages. A phishing APP was embedded in a newsletter. He assured the meeting that their were no personal risks. Passwords would be changed every 90 days from now on. It was his intention to provide a blog on the British Championship if John Philpott was able to support. This tournament has a slow rate of entries.

5. Presentation of Trophies

```
4<sup>th</sup> Division >> Basildon II (no Basildon representative at meeting)
3<sup>rd</sup> Division >> Barking II presented to Colin Ramage
2<sup>nd</sup> Division >> Southend I presented to Steve Wedlock
1<sup>st</sup> Division* >> Writtle presented to David Millward
```

6. Election of Officers: The following were elected:

President – Ivor Smith; Chairman – Bryan Gaze; General Secretary – John Chapman; Assistant General Secretary – Steve Wedlock; Treasurer – Joe Rosenberg; Match Captain – Ivor Smith; Assistant Match Captain – David Smith; Correspondence Match Captain – Steve Wedlock; Tournament Secretary – vacant; League Secretary – David Millward; Grader – David Millward; Junior Organiser – Dave Hawkins; Publicity Officer – Ian Hunnable; Webmaster – Ian Hunnable. Additional Committee Members – Malcolm Crane and Colin Ramage.

For the vacant post of Tournament Secretary, Bryan Gaze proposes Ivor as a temporary appointment.

- 7. Appointment of Auditor: Syd Kalinsky was retained as Auditor.
- **8. Subscriptions, Game Fee and Surcharges for 2013/2014:** Joe Rosenberg proposed no changes in subscriptions and this was seconded by Colin Ramage.

^{*}This trophy was cleverly rebuilt by Malcom Crane, and Colin Ramage proposed that we thank Malcolm, and that the General Secretary write to him on behalf of the Association.

9) Any Other Business: Joe raised the issue of the current quorum requirement: currently it is as follows:

AGM: 12 proposed change to 0 GPC: 10 proposed change to 0 Exec: 5 no change proposed

Apparently there was no quorum requirement 20 years ago. It was agreed that this item would be addressed at the next AGM rather than have an EGM especially for it.

The meeting closed at 21.40 John Chapman, General Secretary