Essex win Ward-Higgs

From Steve Abbott

Essex have won this years competition, for the third time in the last four years.

Congratulations to the Essex A team of:

Peter Coleman
Stephen Williams
Trevor Carr
Andrew Lewis
Jon Manley
Martin Fleury
Tony Stebbings
John Sargent.

Thank you, Steve.

Essex have three teams in the County & District Correspondence Chess Championships. Essex B, captained by John Davenport, also played in the Ward-Higgs, having gained promotion in 2019 by winning the Sinclair (Division 2). They finished 4th in 2020, 7th in 2021, but this year finished last of nine teams. Essex C finished 6th of seven teams, in the Sinclair, having won the Buttler Thomas (Division 3) in 2019 – a golden year when Essex won all three divisions.

Congratulations also to Steve Abbott for his work in maintaining the Essex webserver chess (as we now call it) with such success. The C&DCCC is now fully conducted on the ICCF webserver. You can therefore find all the details and all the games, via the links below. To play through a game, simply select the game score – two games on each Board.

Links: Ward-Higgs | Sinclair | Competitions link

Posted in Activities, Webserver chess.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *