County Championships

The Association runs teams in the SCCU County Championships, all sections, and – for those teams which qualify from the SCCU competitions – the ECF County Championships (aka the “national stages”).

Essex League

Running from October to April, sometimes with a bleed into May, the Essex Chess League has been in being since 1902-03. Currently, the League comprises three Divisions and a “Minor” competition. Board numbers: Division 1 and 2, 8 boards; Division 3, 6 boards; Minor competition, 4 boards.

Team Blitz

This is an ECA interal event, played on a summer Sunday morning at the end of June. Teams of four representing an Essex Club, playing blitz chess at a minimum of seven minutes on each clock.

Summer Rapid Team KnockoutFirst round in June, Final usually in September. Teams of five representing Essex Clubs, Schools, or other organisation. All teams play in Round 1. Plate competition for R1 losers. Each match comprises two rounds of G20+10 Rapid chess.

Individual Activities


The Essex Blitz Championship is held in September at Wanstead House. Swiss pairing. Rate of play: 5 minutes + 4 seconds per move.


The Essex Lightning Championship is held on the afternoon of the same day as the Team Blitz. Lightning chess is played with a buzzer, not a clock. The buzzer sounds every 10 seconds and the player on move must play their next move while the buzzer sounds; not before, not after.


The Essex Rapid is held at Writtle, late June or early July. Six rounds, Swiss pairing, G20+10. The Rapid is open to all Essex, not simply Essex Chess Association members. However, non-members pay a small surcharge on top of the normal Entry Fee. Sections subject to entry, but generally Open, Major, Minor.